Skip to main content

A Warm Welcome to our New OpenJS Board Directors

By August 16, 2022Announcement, Blog

As of August 2022, we have three new members on the OpenJS Foundation Board of Directors. They are filling positions on the Silver level and Community level. We are excited for them to bring their expertise to the OpenJS Foundation! 

The board sets technical policy, including “mission and vision statements, describing the overarching scope of foundation initiatives, technical vision, and direction.”

How Members Are Chosen

According to our bylaws, each Platinum member is entitled to appoint one Director to the board, and the Platinum Directors are eligible to serve as chairperson and vice-chairperson. Gold and Silver members vote among themselves to select their representatives. The Board also includes community representation, with two Community Directors nominated by the Cross Project Council (CPC) and its chartered committees with staggered elections.

New Silver Board Members

Abigail Cabunoc Mayes, Silver Director, GitHub

Abby leads GitHub’s open source maintainer programs where she works to help maintainers – and the open source ecosystem – thrive. Before joining GitHub, Abby led Mozilla’s open source engagement strategy for MozFest and trustworthy AI. She founded and led Mozilla Open Leaders, a program that has worked with over 600 open projects globally. She is active in the open source ecosystem as a current or past member of a variety of committees and editorial boards including the Journal of Open Source Software, the Mozilla Open Source Support Awards, and SustainOSS.

Paula Paul, Silver Director, Nearform

Paula has a rich career in software engineering, from mainframe product development at IBM to championing innovative open source and developer experience efforts in her current role as a Field CTO with NearForm. She is a distinguished engineer, author, speaker, angel investor, and mentor who is passionate about diversity and inclusion in engineering. Paula also serves on the Grace Hopper Open Source Day committee for

New CPC Board Director

Matteo Collina, CPC Board Director

Matteo is a prolific Open Source author in the JavaScript ecosystem and modules he maintains are downloaded more than 60 billion times a year. Previously he was Chief Software Architect at NearForm. In 2014, he defended his Ph.D. thesis titled “Application Platforms for the Internet of Things”. Matteo is a member of the Node.js Technical Steering Committee focusing on streams, diagnostics and http. He is also the author of the fast logger Pino and the Fastify web framework. Matteo is an renowned international speaker after more than 60 conferences, including OpenJS World, Node.js Interactive,, NodeSummit, JSConf.Asia, WebRebels, and JsDay. He is also co-author of the book “Node.js Cookbook, Third Edition” edited by Packt. In the summer he loves sailing the Sirocco.